Check Out our Reviews

Aqua Sports Maui Reviews on Trip Advisor     Aqua Sports Maui Reviews on Yelp       Aqua Sports Maui Google+ About

Kite Girls

Here are just some reviews from Our Customers:

The lessons I took from Aqua Sports were the highlight of my visit to Maui.  Aqua Sports was extremely professional in every aspect.  Aqua Sports would not book lessons on days when the wind wasn’t cooperating even though this would could cut into profits.

The instructors were extremely qualified and actually had been or still were Professional Kite Boarders.  One of them I learned afterward, was an actual legendary Icon of the sport!  How much more qualified does it get?  The instructors top priority is the safety of the students and the other people using the beach and the water, and the next priorities are fun and learning.  I would recommend Aqua Sports to anyone looking to learn how to take on this exciting sport safely and quickly; the entire experience was amazing.

Thanks Aqua Sports, I shall return!

J M, from Canada.

 

 Wonderful group of instructors to be sure at Aqua Sports- I have taken many lessons with the instructors and have never been disappointed. They are patient and courteous as well as totally experienced and will stay with you until you are sailing with confidence. You will not be disappointed with your experience.

Randy W

San Francisco

 

“Friendly, competent and no-fuss kitesurfing gear rental”

5 of 5 starsReviewed January 7, 2014

I rented a full kitesurfing kit (kite, board and harness) from Aqua Sports Maui for one day during my Christmas holiday in Maui. Karen who gave me information and made my booking was very friendly.

Dennis, the instructor who checked on my skills before approving rental (by the way something entirely appropriate because no kiter should want other kiters to get in trouble or hurt themselves or even worse, innocent bystanders) was an experienced and easy to work with dude. Equipment was good (North Evo and Cabrinha Vector kites). I had a fun day kiting at Kite Beach and enjoyed seeing a green turtle hanging around on a reef, the first time I experienced this whilst riding!

I would have rented for additional days but sadly the following day, my second to last day on the island, the wind dropped.

Thanks Karen, Dennis and wife, Bryan and rest of the super nice staff! Hang loose!
Paolo

 

“Great Team”

5 of 5 starsReviewed December 30, 2013

I had a great experience with Aqua Sports Maui from beginning to end. I would recommend this company to anyone seeking rental or Kiteboarding lessons. Thanks guys!

Visited December 2013

“Go Kiting and Be a Kid Again with Karen Lang and her great Team”

5 of 5 starsReviewed October 6, 2013

#1 Activity on Maui – Karen Lang and her team can create the environment for a life changing experience in Kiteboarding; take a day or better yet a week and be surfing with your kite motor in the sky; never too old too get up and go; mid 50s here and loving it ! Mahalo Karen for letting me be a kid again – forever young 🙂 Aqua Sports places safety first and ensures the equipment is outstanding and that you know how to use it property! Aqua has a range of professional instructors so don’t be shy about telling them what personality fits you the best. That is key to find the best instructor for success.

 

“a great choice”

5 of 5 starsReviewed October 31, 2013

I chose Aquasports largely based on the reviews I read. They lived up to them all. I had Diana for a day and half and Matt for a day ( A day for me was a 3 hour session). They did not extend my session in conditions that would not keep me learning and excited. Matt and Diana were both amazing people, genuinely committed to my progress and safety. Karen the owner, answered every one of my calls and question leading up to the start including my panic call while lost on the way to my first lesson. This is not a bunch of surf bum drop outs . This is a group of intelligent, enthusiastic, highly skilled people in great shape that could be doing a lot of things that pay a lot better. I felt lucky to be in their hands and am sure you will too.

 

“Great school on Kite Beach”

5 of 5 starsReviewed October 16, 2013

Great kiteboarding school. Their booking process is easy (you can even do it online through their website), and their instructors are great! They are really patient and thorough, and pushed me to improve and progress while making sure my safety was top priority. I’ve been amazed by how quickly I’ve learned to kiteboard. If you’re looking for a new water sport, looking to expand your kiteboarding skills, or just want to try something fun while on vacation, check them out. I would recommend Aquasports and their instructors to anyone.

 

5 of 5 starsReviewed September 28, 2013

I took 5 kiteboard lessons with Aqua Sports Maui this past August. The Readers Digest version: Highly recommended. Stop reading and take a lesson!

This was my introduction to kiteboarding and I was very happy with the entire experience. Karen is very professional and organized. My instructor was knowledgeable, patient, and always provided constructive and positive comments. I am new to the sport, over 50 (just!), a long time windsurfer (still enjoy!) but getting a bit lonely at the windsurf sites as my friends have mostly switched or are in the process of taking up the kite. I was motivated to learn a new skill and stay safe. My instructor instilled a healthy degree of respect for the sport and the possibility for problems. I was never in a situation where I felt I was in over my head during my lessons. The lessons progressed at a pace that was in keeping with my ability, yet I definitely improved with each session.

You have enough decisions to make in your life. If you are interested in the sport, or want to take your existing skills to the next level, do not hesitate to give Aqua Sports Maui a try.

 

“Brilliant!”

5 of 5 starsReviewed June 3, 2013

I have nothing but good things to say about my kiteboarding lessons with Aqua Sports Maui. Karen was very responsive to my emails and calls. She would get back to me in minutes, in most if not all cases. All in all, the company ran a very tight ship. I agree with the other reviews that I have read, namely- that the most important thing is to have a high quality instructor. My instructor (Alex) was excellent. He moved the lessons at exactly the pace I needed and got me out and on the water as fast and as safely as possible. I had an outrageously fun day and can’t wait to do that again. Most importantly, I feel like I received a very solid base in safety, self rescue and wind theory/reading, so that I can build on that foundation in the future. I will be taking this sport up. No doubt. Thank you Karen and thank you Alex for a great day. I think that now- (2 days later) the adrenaline is finally wearing off. Mahalo!

 

“Lessons from a Legend”

5 of 5 starsReviewed September 23, 2013

I’ve spent quite a bit of time on Kite Beach taking lessons from several of the kite schools and from a number of different instructors. I would echo others advice below about finding an instructor you “click” with. And who that is will depend upon your own skill level and approach to the sport. And it will change as you progress in the sport. I’ve found Karen and the folks at Maui AquaSports a helpful, honest, and very fair school in matching me up with the right person as I’ve advanced in the sport.

My most recent lessons were with the legendary Lou Wainman himself. He was an extremely patient and helpful instructor while I was trying to nail down a heel to toeside turn. Thank you for suffering through my learning curve Lou. He also imparted some tips about cleaning up my stance that I’ve since found invaluable. I would highly recommend both him and the school.

 

“Great lessons in difficult conditions”

5 of 5 starsReviewed April 4, 2013

Having read up on a number of the different kiteboarding outfits on Maui before my trip, I decided to go with Aquasports due to their great pricing and responsiveness to my initial requests–email requests to some of the other outfitters were not returned. When I showed up for the first of my 3-day lessons in late February, the conditions were a bit difficult as a large amount of mud had accumulated in the shores of the southern part of Kite Beach and there was a pretty big crowd on the Northern side. Nevertheless, Corey did a great job with the lesson and finding a way to get me out on the water while keeping me at a safe distance from the numerous other kiteboarders entering/exiting the beach. Great value and had me up on the board by the end of the third day – highly recommended!

“Great experience”

Reviewed March 16, 2012

I had a great experience with ASM, the one negative review here is definitely not the norm for this company. My instructor was Mike and he did a great job of explaining things in terms that it was easy for a beginner to understand. I feel like I got more than I paid for with my lesson and had a…More

 

“Trust Aqua for top quality instruction with your safety #1”

Reviewed January 16, 2012

Originally went to Aqua to get introduction to kiteboarding (safely) with a vacationing buddy. Top notch experience. Safety is top priority. I live here and since have used Aqua exclusively. Great instructors (have worked with six), very personable and experienced. Very accommodating of my challenging schedule (doctor). Super fun sport. Gotta try it. Did I mention they are all about…More

 

“Great Experience!”

Reviewed January 16, 2012

Four of us signed up for lessons and had a great time. The two of us that were really keen stuck with it and we’re getting up on day 2. Karen and the instructors are very safety conscious and very supportive. I can’t wait to get back out on the water…or snow…soon

 

“Great school and good value”

Reviewed January 16, 2012

There are three kite-boarding schools that operate out of vans in the western parking lot at Kanaha beach and they all seem to be very similar. It makes for a friendly vibe and a great way to get an introduction to the sport. There are lots of students on the beach and your big red helmet is a clear signal..

 

“An Amazing Experience thanks to Fantastic Instructors”

Reviewed January 16, 2012

I went from knowing nothing about kiteboarding to becoming an IKO certified Kiteboarder in just 4 days! This was all thanks to the fantastic instructors that coached me each step of the way…. from Diana showing me the ropes and getting me to stand up… to Tim showing me how to jump waves and fly 20 feet in the air….More

 

“Excellent instruction, got me kiteboarding in 3 days”

 

I found the instruction to be top notch. I am a nationally certified coach in other sports, so I know good coaching when I see it. Kiteboarding is a very complex endeavour, especially if you are a beginner coming at it from scratch, like I was. You have a lot…More

 

“Aquasports Maui is the best kiteboarding school in Maui!”

Reviewed January 14, 2012

I have been to Maui several times and have taken about 7 hours of kiteboarding lessons with Aquasports with a couple different instructors. I was able to get up and riding faster than other people I saw and know and unlike some of the other companies they will not put you out there if the conditions are not good. My…More

 

“Great Kiteboarding Lessons”

Reviewed January 12, 2012

I am a returning kiteboarding student since 2008 and have used Maui Aquasports each year I’ve returned to Maui to work on my kiteboarding. I’ve paired up with several of Maui Aquasports’ instructors over the years and have found them all professional and truly interested in furthering my progress in the sport. Make no mistake. Learning how to kiteboard well…More

 

See More Comments about our Kiteboarding Instructors on their specific pages

Write Your own Review: